BMW's Marco Wittmann has tightened his grip on this season's DTM title battle by strolling to a commanding third win of 2016 at the Nurburgring.

The BMW Team RMG driver took a lights-to-flag victory and extended his points advantage over Robert Wickens and Jamie Green, who could only manage ninth and third respectively.

Starting from pole position, Wittmann crucially retained the lead, and thus the advantage of being protected from his BMW rear gunner Tom Blomqvist, who slotted behind in second position.

While the opening sequence of laps proved a close affair, Wittmann eventually established a gap to Blomqvist, leaving his team mate to fend off the chasing pack led by Audi's Jamie Green and Edoardo Mortara.

Unable to make an impression upon Blomqvist in second, Green waved his team mate Mortara through into third on the 12th lap of the race in a bid to increase the heat on the leading BMWs.

As Green tumbled to fifth behind the Mercedes of Daniel Juncadella, Mortara immediately went on offensive and came perilously close to snatching second from Blomqvist.

Mortara almost made the move stick going into the final chicane but the Italian overshot the corner, meaning he had to relinquish the position back to the BMW.

One attack sharply turned into another, which subsequently brought Juncadella, Green and Bruno Spengler back into play.

Juncadella ultimately bore the brunt of the exchange and spun out of contention after an altercation between with Team MTEK's Spengler.

Having soaked up laps of sustained pressure Blomqvist valiantly resisted the advances from Mortara and trailed Wittmann by 7.1s as the flag fell.

Having failed in getting past the BMW for second, Audi later switched the positions back in Green's favour, pushing Mortara back down to fourth behind the Brit.

Paul di Resta progressed up the order from tenth to sixth, keeping what now looks to be a slim chance of taking the title alive.

Lucas Auer was unable to recover from his grid penalty and finished seventh ahead of last year's Nurburgring winner Maxime Martin in eighth.

Mercedes duo Robert Wickens and Maximilian Goetz completed the remaining points paying positions in ninth and tenth.

Wickens remains second in the championship but only by the solitary point ahead of Green in third.



Loading Comments...