Zandvoort race two winner Marco Wittmann has been disqualified from the final classification due to insufficient fuel left in his Team RMG BMW.

The 2016 DTM champion has been disqualified as the minimum 1kg of fuel was not remaining in his BMW during post-race scrutineering, promoting the whole field up a place to see Mike Rockenfeller clinch victory and lead an Audi 1-2-3-4.



Reigning DTM champion Marco Wittmann has secured his first win of the 2017 season after holding off a resurgent Mike Rockenfeller at Zandvoort.

The Team RMG driver held the ascendency for the vast majority of the race but was forced to defend his once handsome lead towards the end as Audi's Rockenfeller closed in on the leading BMW M4.

Rockenfeller dismantled Wittmann's net lead after the defending champion found himself held up by Audi's Loic Duval, who was running deep into the race on an alternative tyre strategy.

Once Duval peeled off into the pits, Wittmann became subject of increasing pressure from Rockenfeller. But despite always remaining within DRS range, the Audi driver couldn't quite manufacture a gap past the Team RMG prepared BMW.

Subsequently, Wittmann was able to establish a 0.807s winning margin over his compatriot after pulling away on the final lap.

Having made his one and only tyre stop late in the race, Duval scored his best DTM finish in third, 16 seconds back from his Team Phoenix stablemate Rockenfeller in second.

Almost a minute off Wittmann's lead, Mattias Ekstrom held off a multi-car queue to secure vital championship points in fourth position ahead of Nico Muller, Gary Paffett, Maxime Martin, Timo Glock, Augusto Farfus and Bruno Spengler.

With Ekstrom struggling with the balance of his Audi RS 5 towards the end of the race, just five seconds covered fourth to eleventh.





Loading Comments...