BMW's Marco Wittmann has won the final race of the season at the Hockenheimring as Audi's Rene Rast is crowned the 2017 DTM champion in his rookie year after snatching the title away from Mattias Ekstrom.

The outgoing DTM champion signed off his 2016 title defence by winning his first race of the year as the race for the 2017 title was played out behind the Team RMG BMW driver.

As Wittmann crossed the line to take the victory by 3.143s, Audi's Rast ensured he secured a remarkable first ever DTM title in only his first full season in the series by finishing in second position behind the leading the BMW M4.

Rast arrived into the finale 11-points back from the then championship leader Mattias Ekstrom. However, with title rivals Ekstrom and Jamie Green both starting further down the order in 14th and 15th positions, Rast was able to control the destiny of the DTM title at the front of the field.

Indeed, Green and Ekstrom spent the early part of the race firmly out of contention but the Audi duo did rise back up the order in the dying stages to briefly put Rast's title aspirations in some doubt.

In the end, fifth and eighth was the best Green and Ekstrom could manage, which allowed Rast to take the championship by just three-points ahead of Ekstrom

Having completed the podium order in third position, Team Phoenix's Mike Rockenfeller also give himself a faint opportunity of taking a second DTM crown but the 2013 champion eventually ended his campaign fourth in the standings, just 12-points behind Rast.




Loading Comments...