Toby Sowery vaulted into the Junior Easykart Championship lead thanks to a win and a second place in Rowrah's doubleheader meeting.

The sixth and seventh rounds of the 2010 Easykart Championship took the series to the glorious Cumbrian venue of Rowrah where Toby Sowery, Thomas Grainger and Luca Hirst emerged as the three drivers who will duel over the championship in the eighth and final round of the series.

Sowery led Saturday's rather strung out 20-lap final from start to finish, beating the ever consistent Hirst by nearly four seconds with the rest, led by Jed McInnes and James Ludlam, nearly 15-seconds behind.

Erstwhile points leader Grainger, who started down in seventh, made brief inroads into the top three but soon fell back to fifth, where he remained for the rest of the race. Alexander Morris, James DeHavillande, and Keiran Gordon completed the top eight.

After finishing second four times in the first six finals of the year Hirst chose a critical moment to score that first vital win, holding off some intense pressure from Sowery to win Sunday's final by one tenth of a second. Hirst started from pole and led all 20-laps as Sowery was bogged down in an early race scrap for second with Morris but even though Morris was duly dispatched inside five laps Sowery could do nothing about Hirst in the closing stages.

Despite some good battling down the order, the top positions were settled relatively early on with Morris holding onto a lonely third place, more than three seconds behind Sowery but more than four seconds ahead of Ludlam.

Grainger finished fifth for the second day running, eight seconds behind Hirst but only a few tenths ahead of Jai Ould with Gordon and William Lampitt next in line.

Thanks to his solid weekend Sowery goes into the final round seven points ahead of Grainger before dropped scores are taken into account with Hirst just 19 points off the lead in third and DeHavillande fourth albeit with only a very slim chance of taking the title.



Loading Comments...