In peerlessly triumphing in the Monaco Grand Prix in Monte Carlo, Jenson Button has made it five wins out of six races at the beginning of the 2009 Formula 1 campaign, in so doing extending his lead at the head of the drivers' standings to 16 points over runner-up and Brawn GP team-mate Rubens Barrichello.

If the two Mercedes-powered machines once again proved untouchable around the narrow, tortuous streets of the glamorous Principality - in the race dubbed the jewel in F1's glittering crown - then Ferrari ran them closest, as for the first time this year the Scuderia began to look like its old self again, after enduring its worst start to a season in almost three decades.

There was little to choose between Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa in third and fourth at the chequered flag, with fifth-placed Mark Webber in some way making up for the indiscretion of Red Bull Racing team-mate Sebastian Vettel, who dumped his car unceremoniously into the circuit's unforgiving concrete barriers early on.

The points-finishers were completed by Williams' Nico Rosberg, Renault's double title-winner Fernando Alonso and record-breaking former multiple Champ Car king S?bastien Bourdais, who behind the wheel of his Scuderia Toro Rosso narrowly held off Giancarlo Fisichella to deny Force India its breakthrough point in the top flight after 24 attempts.

Follow the links below for team-by-team reaction to the race:

Brawn GP: Jenson Button, Rubens Barrichello and Ross Brawn

Ferrari: Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa, Stefano Domenicali and Chris Dyer

Red Bull Racing: Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel, Christian Horner and Fabrice Lom

Williams: Nico Rosberg, Kazuki Nakajima and Sam Michael

Renault: Fernando Alonso, Nelson Piquet Jr, Flavio Briatore, Pay Symonds and Remi Taffin

Toro Rosso: Sebastien Bourdais, Sebastien Buemi and Franz Tost

Force India: Giancarlo Fisichella, Adrian Sutil and Vijay Mallya

Toyota: Timo Glock, Jarno Trulli and Tadashi Yamashima

BMW Sauber: Nick Heidfeld, Robert Kubica, Mario Theissen and Willy Rampf

McLaren: Lewis Hamilton, Heikki Kovalainen, Martin Whitmarsh and Norbert Haug



Loading Comments...