The 2020 F1 World Championship season is finally underway but teams are still looking ahead to the 2021 F1 grid campaign as they steadily roll out driver announcements... with Sebastian Vettel confirming his long-anticipated switch to Racing Point, replacing Sergio Perez

Ferrari's decision not to renew Vettel's deal back in May kick-started a flurry of acitvity in the driver market, with Daniel Ricciardo heading from Renault to McLaren next year, where he will be partnering Lando Norris.

He replaces Carlos Sainz, who becomes Vettel's successor at Ferrari alongside Charles Leclerc, who penned a new long-term Ferrari deal at the tail-end of 2019. Vettel, meanwhile, has remained coy on his whereabouts with his seemingly most logical desintation of Renault now off the table following the news of Fernando Alonso's grandstand return. 

Elsewhere, Max Verstappen will remain in Red Bull colours in 2021 after signing a new three-year deal, while three drivers further down the grid have also been confirmed for 2021 already. Esteban Ocon signed a two-year deal with Renault, starting this season. 

Mercedes junior George Russell is locked down at Williams on a three-year deal that ends in 2021, and he will remain teammates with Nicholas Latifi

After signing up Valtteri Bottas for another year, Mercedes will now turn its attentions to agreeing new terms Lewis Hamilton, while Alex Albon's Red Bull seat is not yet secure after stepping up to the top team midway through 2019.

Here's a look at how the grid for the 2021 season is shaping up so far.

Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team

Valtteri Bottas (end of 2021)

Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow

Charles Leclerc (end of 2024)
Carlos Sainz (end of 2022)

Aston Martin Red Bull Racing

Max Verstappen (end of 2023)

McLaren F1 Team

Daniel Ricciardo (multi-year)
Lando Norris (multi-year)

Renault F1 Team

Esteban Ocon (end of 2021)
Fernando Alonso (at least the end of 2021)

Scuderia AlphaTauri


SportPesa Racing Point F1 Team / Aston Martin F1 Team

Sebastian Vettel (multi year)
Lance Stroll (multi year)

Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen


Haas F1 Team


ROKiT Williams Racing

George Russell (end of 2021)
Nicholas Latifi (end of 2021) 



Loading Comments...