Lewis Hamilton has been named as the latest recipient of the prestigious Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, following in the footsteps of other major Formula One figures.

The Trofeo Lorenzo Bandini is traditionally awarded to the best young driver of the season, in memory of the leading Italian driver of his period who perished in a fire at the Monaco Grand Prix in 1967, although some, such as Michael Schumacher were already more established by the time they were honoured.

Schumacher 'won' the award for the 2002 season, ten years after his debut, and Hamilton too can be though of as being named slightly after the most opportune moment, having seen Robert Kubica honoured in the Briton's stunning debut season, and Sebastian Vettel in the year that he won the world title for McLaren. Hamilton now takes the trophy for 2009, a year where 2000 award winner Jenson Button finally reached the pinnacle of his F1 career.

Other winners include Last year's recipient was Sebastian Vettel, when he drove the 12 kilometres from Faenza to Bandini's nearby hometown of Brisighella at the wheel of a Toro Rosso.

Previous winners include Felipe Massa, Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen, with another of Hamilton's current F1 foes, Jarno Trulli, taking the mantle in 1999.

It has become commonplace for the winner to arrive at Bandini's home town of Brisighella in an F1 car, but Hamilton is expected to attend the award ceremony at the wheel of a Mercedes road car, rather than his McLaren.



Loading Comments...