1997 F1 world champion Jacques Villeneuve and Ferrari test and reserve ace Giancarlo Fisichella are amongst a number of F1 stars that will take in the new i1 Supercar Series in 2012.

The championship was officially launched by MachdarMotorsports today at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. In addition to Villeneuve and Fisichella, the series has also attracted Vitantonio Liuzzi, Heinz-Harald Frentzen, Jean Alesi, Mika Salo, Karun Chandhok, Alex Yoong, Sakon Yamamoto, Neal Jani and Pippa Mann. In total there will be a pool of 27 drivers with 18 being chosen for each race weekend.

"This is a big moment for us as we confirm our drivers and calendar for the inaugural season," said Darshan M, i1 Supercar Series CEO.

"As promised we have a fantastic line-up of proven international race winners mixed with young Indian drivers. The drivers will have their first taste of the Radical SR3 tomorrow so we will work closely with them to make the car even better."

The i1 Supercar Series will consist of ten races with nine teams representing different Indian cities. The events will be held in India, UAE, Malaysia, Bahrain and Qatar. Each team will be represented by two drivers, with at least one of Indian origin. Teams will compete for a USD 2 million prize.

The first race is scheduled to take place from January 21-22 in Malaysia, with three events in February and the finale at the Yas Marina Circuit at the start of March.



Loading Comments...