The FIA, F1's governing body, has announced that the 2013 F1 season will comprise 19 races in total.

There had been hopes of adding in an 'additional race in Europe' after the planned race in New Jersey in the USA was put back to 2014 at the earliest. As a result, at the start of December, the date for the German Grand Prix was shifted to July 7 to make way for another race on July 21. Turkey had been thought to be the hot favourite to fill that void, but no deal could be reached. Other venues in Austria, France and Portugal were also mooted, but again nothing could be agreed.

F1 boss, Bernie Ecclestone said at the start of February that it was too late now to sort a replacement race. However, it has taken until now, less than a week away from the season opener in Australia, for the World Motor Sport Council to finally confirm that there definitely won't be a 20th event, with the FIA putting out a statement to that effect after its latest meeting in Geneva on Friday [March 8].

Meanwhile it was also noted by the WMSC that the negotiations over the new Concorde Agreement are 'proceeding positively in order to be concluded in the near future'.

The full 2013 F1 calendar is as follows...

2013 F1 calendar:

March 17 Australia Melbourne
March 24 Malaysia Sepang
April 14 China Shanghai
April 21 Bahrain Sakhir
May 12 Spain Catalunya
May 26 Monaco Monte Carlo
June 9 Canada Montreal
June 30 Britain Silverstone
July 7 Germany Nurburgring
July 28 Hungary Budapest
August 25 Belgium Spa-Francorchamps
September 8 Italy Monza
September 22 Singapore Marina Bay
October 6 Korea Yeongam
October 13 Japan Suzuka
October 27 India New Delhi
November 3 Abu Dhabi Yas Marina
November 17 United States Austin
November 24 Brazil Sao Paulo



Loading Comments...