Nigel Mansell has been named as part of the new Drivers' Commission, the FIA confirmed on Friday following the latest World Motor Sport Council meeting in Geneva.

The 1992 F1 world champion will represent the rights and interests of drivers in single-seaters, along with former F1 driver, Karun Chandhok and former Marussia test driver, Maria de Villota. Emerson Fittipaldi, F1 world champion in 1972 and 1974, takes on the presidency, with nine-time World Rally champion, Sebastien Loeb appointed as vice-president.

Plans to set up the Drivers' Commission were made last year following the granting of provisional recognition by the IOC (International Olympic Committee) of the FIA as a Federation.

The full FIA statement read:

"Following a mandate from the 2012 General Assembly, the WMSC confirmed the composition of the Drivers' Commission. Under the Presidency of Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA), the rights and interests of drivers across the disciplines will be represented by the following members:
Vice-President S?bastien Loeb FRA

Nigel Mansell GBR
Karun Chandhok IND
Maria de Villota** ESP

Sports Cars, GT, Touring Car
Emanuele Piro ITA
Yvan Muller FRA
Adrian Fernandez MEX

Rally, Cross Country Rally
Nasser Al Attiyah QAT
Marcus Gr?nholm FIN
Daniel Elena MCO

Other disciplines
Kenneth Hansen* SWE
Danilo Rossi* ITA
Keiko Ihara* JPN**

* Subject to the ASN agreement
** As female representatives."



Loading Comments...