The Super Aguri team is to be re-launched into single-seater competition for the first time since leaving F1 after being named as the sixth entrant into the new Formula E Championship.

The team, which competed in F1 from 2006 to 2008, joins the likes of Andretti Autosport, Drayson Racing, Dragon Racing and e.Dams in securing a place on the grid for the new series for electric cars.

Aguri Suzuki will lead the team into its new venture in the role of chief executive, with former Super Auguri F1 men Mark Preston and Peter McCool in the roles of team principal and technical director.

"Today is a new chapter for the Super Aguri name and I'm proud that our team will represent Japan in the inaugural Formula E series," Suzuki said. "Zero emissions racing is a progressive concept for the motorsport industry, and after more than 40 years as both a driver and team owner, I see Formula E as a great stride towards the future.

"Japan has always been at the forefront of cutting-edge innovation and technology and our participation in the series will enable us to promote and develop electric vehicle technology not just in our region, but also on a global scale."

Alejandro Agag, CEO of series promoters Formula E Holdings, said he was pleased to be able to welcome another new team to the grid for the inaugural season.

"We're very pleased to have Super Aguri join the FIA Formula E Championship and to be welcoming yet another high profile name onto the grid," he said. "Japan has a long and celebrated motorsport heritage, as well as one of the most prominent and largest car industries in the world, so it's a real honour to have a Japanese team and we hope this will lead to interest from manufacturers and possibly even a Formula E race there in the future."


Loading Comments...