Max Chilton has finally revealed which number he will carry in this year's F1 world championship, having teased fans at the announcement of his return on Saturday.

The Briton, who has had to wait until now to be confirmed back in the seat he occupied during 2013 despite the belief that he was the only contender to again partner Jules Bianchi, told the crowd at the annual Autosport International exhibition that, having missed out on his first few choices, he had submitted a request for a number that 'looked good in his name'.

Although there are a few remaining options in that category, Chilton eventually revealed his pick via Twitter some 54 hours after appearing on stage in Birmingham.

"So next year I will be racing with number 4 on my car! #M4X," the 22-year old tweeted, ensuring that not only will his merchandise be even more personalised, but that he will sit behind only Red Bull pairing Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo on any numerical entry list in 2014. With only the as yet unnamed Caterham drivers to select their numbers, Vettel has confirmed that he will continue to run the #1 earned as champion, while Ricciardo has opted for #3 in his first year alongside the German. Vettel will drop behind Chilton should he even cede the title, having selected #5 as his permanent number.

The Marussia team responded to Chilton's revelation by tweeting 'F4NT4STIC'...

Chilton's number was missing from the latest FIA entry list, issued on Monday and highlighted by Lewis Hamilton's choice of #44, Mercedes' team-mate Nico Rosberg's decision to honour his world champion father with #6, Fernando Alonso bagging his lucky #14 and Kimi Raikkonen opting for #7. Nico Hulkenberg landed the popular #27 for his return to Force India, while Valtteri Bottas set himself on a merchandise-friendly path, similar to Chilton, with the #77 which he has already begun to tweet with the hashtag #BO77AS.

Full F1 2014 entry list (with personal number choices)

Infiniti Red Bull Racing#1 (#5) Sebastian Vettel (Germany)#3 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia)

Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One#44 Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain)#6 Nico Rosberg (Germany)

Scuderia Ferrari#14 Fernando Alonso (Spain)#7 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)

Lotus F1 Team#8 Romain Grosjean (France)#13 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela)

McLaren Mercedes#22 Jenson Button (Great Britain)#20 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark)

Sahara Force India F1 Team#27 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany)#11 Sergio Perez (Mexico)

Sauber F1 Team#99 Adrian Sutil (Germany)#21 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico)

Scuderia Toro Rosso#25 Jean-Eric Vergne (France)#26 Daniil Kvyat (Russia)

Williams Team F1#19 Felipe Massa (Brazil)#77 Valtteri Bottas (Finland)

Marussia F1 Team#17 Jules Bianchi (France)#4 Max Chilton (Great Britain)

Caterham F1 Team#TBA To be announced (TBA)#TBA To be announced (TBA)


Loading Comments...