Full FP3 times HERE

Lewis Hamilton set the fastest time of FP3 for the Bahrain Grand Prix as Sebastian Vettel span out of the session.

Hamilton made it a clean sweep of all three practice sessions at the Sakhir circuit as he edged out team-mate Nico Rosberg by 0.115s. However, the more significant moment of the session was when Vettel made an uncharacteristic error in his Red Bull.

Vettel lost the rear of the car exiting Turn 3 and was unable to regain control, spinning at relatively high speed in to the gravel and bringing his session to an end with 20 minutes still to run. After a number of strange spins for drivers on Friday there didn't seem to be any obvious reason for Vettel's off other than driver error, as he radioed in to tell the team he had spun.

Sergio Perez was third quickest for Force India, ending FP3 half a second slower than Hamilton with the whole deficit coming in the middle sector. He was a quarter of a second quicker than Valtteri Bottas in the Williams, with Felipe Massa a further 0.2s adrift of his team-mate.

Jenson Button set the fifth fastest time but was a second off the pace of Hamilton, leaving him just ahead of Fernando Alonso and Nico Hulkenberg, with the Ferrari and second Force India spit by just 0.001s.

Massa in fifth place to Kevin Magnussen in 11th were covered by less than half a second as a close qualifying battle looks set to take place behind the two Mercedes, with Force India, Williams, McLaren, Ferrari and Toro Rosso all appearing to be closely matched over one lap.

It was another tough session for Lotus as both Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean ended FP3 with a Marussia and a Caterham ahead of them, with Grosjean having admitted on Friday that the team is "miles away" from where it wants to be.

Some teams opted to complete limited running once again - with Massa, Button, Magnussen and Vettel all doing eight laps - due to the high track temperatures compared to qualifying. The track temperature is set to drop in the region of 10C when the sun goes down ahead of the qualifying session at 1800 local time.



Loading Comments...