Max Verstappen, Lewis Hamilton and the Mercedes AMG F1 team are to go up against the best of the sporting world at the 2016 Laureus World Sport Awards after being nominated for prizes at the prestigious aannual ceremony.

Hamilton has once again been nominated for World Sportsman of the Year after clinching his third F1 world title, the Englishman targeting his first success in the leading category having only previously won a breakthrough award for his 2007 F1 debut.

He faces tough opposition, however, from athletes Usain Bolt, Mo Farah and Greg Rutherford, footballers Lionel Messi and Cristano Ronaldo, cyclists Chris Froome and Alberto Contador, basketball legend LeBron James, boxer Floyd Mayweather, golfer Jordan Spieth and 2015 winner Novak Djokovic.

After losing out to the German national football team in the 2015 ceremony, Mercedes AMG is in the running for Team of the Year again, up against Rugby World Cup winners New Zealand, the US Women's football team, the New England Patriots, the Kansas City Royals and Golden State Warriors, the Spanish men's basketball team and the British Davis Cup tennis squad.

Meanwhile, standout F1 rookie Verstappen has also been recognised for his eye-catching maiden season in F1, the Dutchman rivalled by the Chilean men's football team, golfers Jason Day and Brooke Henderson, swimmer Adam Peaty, jockey Michelle Payne and ten year-old Bahraini swimmer Alzain Tareq for the Breakthrough of the Year award.

Despite the stiff opposition, F1 has some strong pedigree in this category, with previous winners including Daniel Ricciardo, Jenson Button, Hamilton and Juan Pablo



Loading Comments...