Channel 4 has revealed which ten races it will show live on free-to-air British television in 2016, though it won't include the Australian Grand Prix opener or the Monaco Grand Prix blue riband round.

Following BBC's decision to annul its contract to televise F1 on UK terrestrial television three years early in an effort to cut costs, Channel 4 was named as the series' surprise new broadcaster in December 2015.

As part of the deal, Channel 4 will show ten of the season's 21 races live in their entirety with no advertising breaks to interrupt them. It will then show the other 11 races as part of a comprehensive highlights package.

Channel 4's first live outing will be the second round in Bahrain and include the British Grand Prix at Silverstone too. It will also show the Spanish GP, Grand Prix of Europe (Azerbaijan), Hungarian GP, Belgian GP, Italian GP, Malaysian GP and Mexican GP, as well as the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix finale in November.

However, the Monaco Grand Prix - one of the BBC's coverage centrepieces - will now only be shown exclusively live on Sky Sports F1, with the pay-to-view broadcaster confirming all 21 races will be shown live once more on its dedicated channel.

Earlier this month, Channel 4 confirmed David Coulthard will form part of its presenting team.

LIVE Channel 4 F1 broadcasts in 2016

April 3Bahrain (Round 2)
May 15Spain (Round 5)
June 19Europe/Azerbaijan (Round 8)
July 10Britain (Round 10)
July 24Hungary (Round 11)
August 28Belgium (Round 13)
September 4Italy (Round 14)
October 2Malaysia (Round 16)
October 30Mexico (Round 19)
November 27Abu Dhabi (Round 21)

Channel 4 will show highlights of the remaining 21 races, while Sky Sports F1 will show each F1 race live



Loading Comments...