CLICK HERE for Bahrain Grand Prix - Race Results

UPDATED: Sainz handed 3 place grid penalty for the following Russian Grand Prix

Carlos Sainz says he misunderstood the reason for Lance Stroll taking a wide line into turn one after a heavy collision between the two ended their Bahrain Grand Prix and promoted the race's critical safety car period.

Sainz was exiting the pit-lane but misjudged Stroll's racing speed line into turn one, assuming the Canadian had seen him and allowed him room to take the corner without backing off.

However, the Williams would sweep back across, with Sainz striking the sidepod and putting both out of contention in an incident not dissimilar to Pastor Maldonado and Esteban Gutierrez's memorable collision from 2014.

"I was exiting the box as you saw and suddenly I saw Lance taking a very wide line," the Toro Rosso driver said. "I thought he was taking that wide line because he was leaving me some space. He didn't lock up any tyres, came into the corner under control.

"On the inside he suddenly just came onto the inside like I wasn't there. I think he simply didn't see me, he didn't expect me there or something because if not he would have left me a car space.

"These things once in a year can happen. Accidents, they are always going to happen as I said."

Stroll, meanwhile, was regretful that the opportunity for points would be ruined by being taken out by a rival for a second race in succession. The rookie is yet to finish a race this year.

"I just got completely hit on the side," he said. "Sainz was like 50, 60 metres behind me in the braking zone and just went really, really long into the corner. When I was in the middle of the corner I just got a big thump on the side.

"It's just unlucky, it's so unlucky. I just hope my luck turns around soon. I can be frustrated, but it's not going to get me anywhere. I just hope my luck turns around. It is what it is. Obviously there are many races to go, but I'm just very upset."

Despite Sainz's protestations, the FIA disagreed and have landed him a 3 place grid penalty for the Russian Grand Prix in Sochi.

"The Stewards heard from Carlos Sainz, the driver of car 55, Lance Stroll, the driver of car 18 and the team representatives, reviewed the video evidence which showed that car 18 was on the normal racing line, car 55 left the pit lane and made a very optimistic attempt to pass car 18 into the corner.

"The Stewards decided that the driver of car 55 was predominately to blame for causing the collision in violation of Article 27.4 of the FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations.

"The Competitor is reminded that, in accordance with Article 12.2.4 of the FIA International Sporting Code and Article 38.3 g) of the FIA Formula One Sporting regulations, the above penalty is not susceptible to appeal."

Comments

Loading Comments...