The ambitious plans of Aguri Suzuki to enter a team in the 2006 Formula One World Championship appear to be at an end after F1's governing body, the FIA, released the official entry list for next season - minus the Super Aguri F1 team.

Suzuki lodged an entry with the FIA prior to the 15 November deadline but the entry list announced today [Thursday] contains just ten teams and fails to make any mention of the Super Aguri outfit.

Aside from Super Aguri, the entry list confirms that the Honda outfit will run under the banner of Lucky Strike Honda Racing F1 Team while the official title sponsor for the McLaren team has yet to be revealed.

BMW Sauber F1, MF1 Racing and Scuderia Toro Rosso will take the place of the Sauber, Jordan and Minardi teams.

In terms of drivers, Tiago Monteiro is confirmed as the second driver with the MF1 Racing team on the official entry. Although he was quoted in the press as saying that he would be returning to the team for a second season, the team hadn't officially confirmed that he would partner Christijan Albers. However Monteiro is now named as Albers' team-mate for 2006.

The only vacancies now left for the 2006 season are with the two Red Bull owned teams, with David Coulthard the only driver confirmed to a race seat. Christian Klien is still expected to take on the second race seat with Red Bull Racing, while Vitantonio Liuzzi and Scott Speed are the front-runners for the two seats at Scuderia Toro Rosso.

However the official Red Bull press release announcing that Robert Doornbos would join RBR as third driver said that, while Speed would be at STR for 2006, his role hadn't yet been decided. It means that Neel Jani, who has a Red Bull contract for next season, could yet earn a race seat.

Official 2006 Formula One entry list:

1. Fernando Alonso Spain Mild Seven Renault F1 Team
2. Giancarlo Fisichella Italy Mild Seven Renault F1 Team

3. Kimi Raikkonen Finland TBA McLaren Mercedes
4. Juan Pablo Montoya Colombia TBA McLaren Mercedes

5. Michael Schumacher Germany Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
6. Felipe Massa Brazil Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro

7. Ralf Schumacher Germany Panasonic Toyota Racing
8. Jarno Trulli Italy Panasonic Toyota Racing

9. Mark Webber Australia WilliamsF1 Team
10. Nico Rosberg Germany WilliamsF1 Team

11. Rubens Barrichello Brazil Lucky Strike Honda Racing F1 Team
12. Jenson Button Britain Lucky Strike Honda Racing F1 Team

14. David Coulthard Britain Red Bull Racing
15. TBA TBA Red Bull Racing

16. Nick Heidfeld Germany BMW Sauber F1 Team
17. Jacques Villeneuve Canada BMW Sauber F1 Team #

18. Tiago Monteiro Portugal MF1 Racing
19. Christijan Albers Holland MF1 Racing

20. TBA TBA Scuderia Toro Rosso
21. TBA TBA Scuderia Toro Rosso

# - Although marked as TBA on official entry list, Villeneuve has been confirmed as the second BMW Sauber driver


Loading Comments...