Kimi Raikkonen will start the Monaco Grand Prix from 16th on the grid after a steering arm failure cost him a chance to set a flying lap in the second session.

The Finn was on his first quick lap when he appeared to glance the barriers at the Swimming Pool complex, leaving him powerless to get the Ferrari around the tight Rascasse corner. To make matters worse, the first car to come across the stranded F2007 was Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa, although the Brazilian avoided making contact with either the Finn or the barrier. Raikkonen was wheeled back into the pits, but the Ferrari mechanics ran out of time to repair the damage, leaving him unable to haul himself out of the drop zone - or do anything about Massa, who continued into the final session after improving on every successive lap.

While Raikkonen had an excuse for his early departure, Jarno Trulli appeared simply too slow to make a typical run for the top ten in the Principality, the Italian destined to line up on row seven, directly ahead of the Ferrari driver.

Heikki Kovalainen will split the two veterans, but is likely to protest David Coulthard - ironically in a Renault-powered Red Bull - after the Scot appeared to block him on one of his early fast laps. That Kovalainen then improved with subsequent efforts - without being able to escape the bottom six - only enhanced the Renault man's claim.

Tonio Liuzzi will line up alongside Trulli after his 13th fastest lap narrowly missed out on a top ten spot, while Alex Wurz and Jenson Button were both victims of the last-ditch rush to improve.Wurz and Button both hauled themselves out of the drop zone, only to be dumped back in, the Briton, ironically, by Honda team-mate Rubens Barrichello.

McLaren team-mates Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton again engaged in their own private battle for top spot, this time with the world champion coming out on top, while the BMW Saubers of Robert Kubica and Nick Heidfeld filled places three and four, suggesting that they may pose the biggest threat to the silver machines.

Massa took fifth, and will be joined in the final session by Nico Rosberg, Coulthard - protest pending - Mark Webber and Barrichello.