Double world champion, Fernando Alonso has won the Monaco Grand Prix, leading from start to finish.

Alonso, who started from pole position, dominated the race, which was pretty uneventful, with no rain and no safety cars periods. Although he was kept honest by his McLaren-Mercedes team-mate, Lewis Hamilton, who took the runners-up spot, the Spaniard was never really threatened.

Felipe Massa took the final place on the podium, more than 60 seconds further back in his Ferrari F2007 and never in contention to challenge either of the McLaren drivers. Massa was the only driver not to be lapped by the McLarens.

Renault's Giancarlo Fisichella took fourth after a very solid drive in the R27, while BMW Sauber duo, Nick Heidfeld and Robert Kubica rounded out the top six.

Alex Wurz took his first points of the season with seventh and Kimi Raikkonen was eighth, the Finn recovering from his gaff in qualifying, which left him to start from 16th on the grid.

Scott Speed was ninth, and just outside the points in his Toro Rosso-Ferrari ahead of Honda's Rubens Barrichello and Jenson Button, in tenth and eleventh respectively.

Full report and result to follow soon...



Loading Comments...