The FIA, Formula 1's governing body, has released the calendar for 2008, following the extraordinary meeting of the World Motor Sport Council yesterday and it has been confirmed that 18 events will take place next year, one more than in 2007.

Despite reports earlier in the week that Bahrain would kick-off the season, the year will actually begin, as has become the norm in recent years, in Australia at Albert Park.

Bahrain will stage the third round the championship, following the event in Malaysia.

Other than that the other key changes include the inclusion of an event in Singapore and a second race in Spain, on a street circuit in Valencia, under the 'European Grand Prix' banner - both races having been confirmed back in May. The event at Valencia has secured a late August slot, while Singapore's inaugural F1 race will take place in September.

The rest of the calendar is pretty much unchanged, although the Turkish Grand Prix moves from August to May and the event in Canada is listed as provisional.

The British Grand Prix at Silverstone remains in July, two weeks before the French Grand Prix, which has been given a reprieve. The event in Germany is expected to take place at Hockenheim, as part of the plan now to alternate with the Nurburgring.

There is no United States Grand Prix - something that was made public on July 12.

The full 2008 calendar is as follows - the 2007 one is shown after for easy comparison...

2008 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

16 MarchAustraliaAlbert Park
23 MarchMalaysiaSepang
6 April BahrainBahrain
27 AprilSpainCatalunya
11 MayTurkeyIstanbul
25 MayMonacoMonte Carlo
08 JuneCanadaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve*
22 JuneFranceMagny Cours
06 JulyBritainSilverstone
20 JulyGermany Hockenheim
03 AugustHungaryHungaroring
24 August Europe**Valencia***
07 SeptemberItalyMonza
14 SeptemberBelgiumSpa
28 SeptemberSingaporeSingapore
12 OctoberChinaShanghai
19 OctoberJapanFuji
2 NovemberBrazilInterlagos

* Provisional.
** Subject to circuit approval.
*** The 2008 European Grand Prix will take place in Valencia.

Please note: venues for grand's prix were not announced. Those listed though are 99.9 per cent certain.

2007 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

18 MarchAustraliaAlbert Park
08 AprilMalaysiaSepang
15 April BahrainBahrain
13 MaySpainCatalunya
27 MayMonacoMonte Carlo
10 JuneCanadaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
17 JuneUnited StatesIndianapolis
01 JulyFranceMagny Cours
08 JulyBritainSilverstone
22 JulyEurope Nurburgring
05 AugustHungaryHungaroring
26 AugustTurkeyIstanbul
09 SeptemberItalyMonza
16 SeptemberBelgiumSpa
30 SeptemberChinaShanghai
07 OctoberJapanFuji
21 OctoberBrazilInterlagos



Loading Comments...