Lewis Hamilton proved to be the big winner at the annual BRDC awards as the McLaren driver secured four awards - although the Formula 1 ace was overshadowed by World Touring Car Champion Andy Priaulx in the ceremony at London's Savoy Hotel.

Triple World Touring Car Champion Priaulx became only the eighth driver in history to secure the BRDC Gold Medal, with the Guernseyman becoming the only active driver to take the Club's highest honour. Sir Stirling Moss and McLaren team boss Ron Dennis are amongst past recipients of the award.

Hamilton however was able to celebrate his first BRDC Gold Star, which he received from ten-time winner Moss during the ceremony, with Hamilton also taking the Era Club Trophy, the Graham Hill Trophy and the Richard Seaman Trophy. His team boss Dennis picked up the Colin Chapman Trophy for showing great team spirit over the course of the year.

Other big winners included British Touring Car Championship runner-up Jason Plato, who secured the BRDC Silver Star and Dario Franchitti - who snared the Earl Howe Trophy and Innes Ireland Trophy thanks to his success in the IndyCar Series and at the Indy 500.

For a full list of winners, CLICK HERE.



Loading Comments...