The Indianapolis Motor Speedway was awarded the Race Promoters' Trophy at the FIA's annual prize giving gala in Monaco on Friday.

Ironically though, despite getting the 'gong' for the best race promoter - having proved to be the 'most helpful, in the most difficult conditions' - the IMS will not host a round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship next season, after IMS president and CEO, Tony George and FOM boss, Bernie Ecclestone failed to reach a new agreement for 2008.

"The Indianapolis Motor Speedway has enjoyed hosting the FIA Formula One World Championship and the United States Grand Prix since 2000," said George.

"On behalf of our dedicated employees, the citizens of Indianapolis and all of the fans who have supported the event, we appreciate being recognised with this honour."

The best national sporting association, ASN trophy, meanwhile went to AKK-Motorsport, the Finnish automobile sport federation.

"It is fantastic to receive this award, especially as it is a first for Finland," noted Kari O. Sohlberg, AKK president. "We are a small country population-wise, but have proven to be a great nation in automobile sport.

"For the Finnish Federation the award is of especially great significance, since the two drivers - Kimi Raikkonen and Heikki Kovalainen - who are responsible for this achievement, were members of the federation's Coaching Programme during their junior years."



Loading Comments...