The FIA has revealed the entry list for the 2008 Formula 1 season which confirms that just one seat is still up for grabs on the 22 car grid for the new campaign.

With Prodrive forced to give up its dream of entering the sport this year, the same eleven teams will contest the championship, with the newly-named Force India F1 team being the only one still to have a vacancy in its driver line-up. Giancarlo Fisichella, Tonio Liuzzi, Christian Klien and Roldan Rodriguez are the drivers currently linked to the drive alongside Adrian Sutil - whose own position with the team is officially confirmed with the release of the entry.

Also confirmed is that Super Aguri will again partner Takuma Sato and Anthony Davidson for the 2008 season, a move expected after managing director Daniel Audetto said it was '100 per cent' that the Briton would stay on to partner his former Carlin F3 team-mate.

Aside from that, the entry list contains little in the way of surprises with the majority of teams having confirmed driver line-ups prior to Christmas.

Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen will proudly carry the #1 into 2008 after his dramatic title win in the 2007 season finale, while chief rivals McLaren will run with Lewis Hamilton as #22 and Heikki Kovalainen as #23 following its exclusion from the constructors' championship after the F1 spying scandal.

2008 FIA Formula 1 World Championship Entry List:

Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro:
1. Kimi Raikkonen
2. Felipe Massa

BMW Sauber F1 Team:
3. Nick Heidfeld
4. Robert Kubica

ING Renault F1 Team:
5. Fernando Alonso
6. Nelson Piquet Jr

AT&T Williams:
7. Nico Rosberg
8. Kazuki Nakajima

Red Bull Racing:
9. David Coulthard
10. Mark Webber

Panasonic Toyota Racing
11. Jarno Trulli
12. Timo Glock

Scuderia Toro Rosso:
14. Sebastien Bourdais
15. Sebastian Vettel

Honda Racing F1 Team:
16. Jenson Button
17. Rubens Barrichello

Super Aguri F1 Team:
18. Takuma Sato
19. Anthony Davidson

Force India Formula One Team:
20. Adrian Sutil
21. TBA

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes:
22. Lewis Hamilton
23. Heikki Kovalainen



Loading Comments...