Valtteri Bottas capped off an impressive maiden season for Mercedes by taking his third Formula 1 win at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, soaking up race-long pressure from Lewis Hamilton en route to victory.

Bottas entered the Abu Dhabi weekend eager to end his win drought dating back to July's Austrian Grand Prix, and was able to grab pole position on Saturday to set himself up for a charge to victory at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Bottas retained his advantage off the line to lead from Hamilton early on, pulling two seconds clear through the opening stages before making his sole stop at the end of Lap 21.

Hamilton tried to get the jump on his teammate by going for the overcut and completing a longer first stint, only for a couple of fast laps in response from Bottas to ensure he retained his lead after the Briton pitted.

Hamilton did not relent in his pursuit of Bottas at the front, pulling to within a second and getting DRS to latch onto the back of the Mercedes ahead, only for a mistake at Turn 17 to see him run wide, easing the pressure.

Hamilton struggled to make inroads on Bottas, with the gap standing at around 1.5 seconds for much of the closing stages, but was able to move bac to within striking distance after his teammate made a mistake through the first chicane with six laps to go.

The chance was soon lost, though, with Hamilton losing almost a second through the final sector on the very same lap, prompting the four-time world champion to drop back and admit defeat.

Bottas was able to ultimately cross the line 3.8 seconds clear of Hamilton to clinch his third win of the season, ending the season on a high after a difficult second half of the campaign.

Sebastian Vettel had a quiet race for Ferrari en route to third, finishing 15 seconds back from Hamilton, while Kimi Raikkonen was a further 26 seconds back in P4. The result did lift the Finn up to fourth in the drivers' championship after Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo retired before half-distance due to a hydraulic issue, leaving Max Verstappen to pick up the team's only points in fifth.

Renault moved above Toro Rosso to sixth place in the constructors' championship after Nico Hulkenberg finished as the top midfield driver in P6, beating the Force India duo of Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon despite a time penalty for cutting a corner early on.

McLaren-Honda ended its second F1 partnership with two points for ninth place courtesy of Fernando Alonso, while Felipe Massa signed off from his grand prix career in 10th for Williams.

Haas ended its second season in F1 outside of the points as Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen took 11th and 13th respectively, split by McLaren's Stoffel Vandoorne at the chequered flag.

Pascal Wehrlein finished the year with a strong run to 14th for Sauber, beating the Toro Rosso pair of Brendon Hartley and Pierre Gasly, while teammate Marcus Ericsson followed in 17th. Lance Stroll was the last classified finisher in 18th for Williams.



Loading Comments...