VW motor sport boss Kris Nissen says the company is pleased to have secured an involvement in the Cooper Tires British F3 International Series for the 2009 season.

Having already tasted success in the F3 Euroseries and the German ATS Cup, Volkswagen will return to British shores this season having concluded deals with both Carlin and T-Sport for the season ahead.

With both teams having run at the front of the field last season, locking out the top four slots in the championship standings, VW will now look to build on the success it enjoyed back in the 1980s - when Johnny Dumfries, Maur?cio Gugelmin, Andy Wallace, Johnny Herbert and David Brabham all lifted the British F3 title while running under Volkswagen power.

Carlin has already revealed it will field four cars this season for Daniel Ricciardo, Max Chilton, Henry Arundel and Oli Oakes, while T-Sport will run Adriano Buzaid and Formula Ford champion Wayne Boyd.

"With Carlin Motorsport and T-Sport we've secured two promising teams in the UK," Nissen said. "Our strategy of systematically and carefully extending our commitment now includes the British Formula 3 Championship, which is ultra-competitive and has been enjoying a high reputation in Europe for decades."



Loading Comments...