Having paced one of the two days at Oulton Park last week, Daniel Ricciardo again found himself at the top of the times during the latest Cooper Tires British F3 International Series test session at Rockingham.

The Australian posted a quickest time of 1min 11.038secs to ensure the new Volkswagen engine topped a British F3 test overall for the first time, with Walter Grubmuller having gone quicker than Ricciardo during the second day of running in Cheshire last week.

Ricciardo's time was a second and a half quicker than the official lap record for the Rockingham circuit and was three-tenths of a second quicker than Nick Tandy, who continued to impress at the wheel of the JTR Mygale on his home circuit. Another driver to have impressed during the off-season, Riki Christodoulou, was third quickest and just eight-thousandths of a second behind Tandy on the times.

Wayne Boyd was fourth for T-Sport ahead of Carlos Huertas while Max Chilton rounded out the top six for Carlin. The top eleven drivers were split by less than a second at the end of the day.

Daniel McKenzie topped the National Class runners in 15th overall ahead of Max Snegirev and Victor Correa, while the Rockingham test also marked the first outing for reigning National Class champion Jay Bridger, although he was bottom of the times in West-Tec's Mygale Mugen-Honda.

Leading performances - Rockingham (17 March):

1. Daniel RicciardoCarlinDallara-Volkswagen1m 11.038s
2. Nick TandyJTRMygale-Mercedes1m 11.458s
3. Riki ChristodoulouFortecDallara-Mercedes1m 11.466s
4. Wayne BoydT-SportDallara-Volkswagen1m 11.549s
5. Carlos HuertasRRRDallara-Mercedes1m 11.556s
6. Max ChiltonCarlinDallara-Volkswagen1m 11.645s
7. Victor GarciaFortecDallara-Mercedes1m 11.698s
8. Daisuke NakajimaRRRDallara-Mercedes1m 11.784s
9. Henry ArundelCarlinDallara-Volkswagen1m 11.802s
10. Walter Grubm?llerHitechDallara-Mercedes1m 11.803s
11. Adriano BuzaidT-SportDallara-Volkswagen1m 11.904s
12. Oliver OakesCarlinDallara-Volkswagen1m 12.159s
13. St?phane RichelmiBarazi-EpsilonDallara-Mercedes1m 12.423s
14. Hywel LloydCF RacingDallara-Mugen1m 12.709s
15. Daniel McKenzieFortecDallara-Mugen1m 13.686s*
16. Max SnegirevWest-TecDallara-Mugen1m 13.762s*
17. Victor CorreaLitespeedLitespeed-Mugen1m 14.898s*
18. Jay BridgerWest-TecMygale-Mugen1m 15.373s

* denotes National Class



Loading Comments...