Bruno Senna and Karun Chandhok have become the latest former Formula 1 drivers to commit to the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship, the pair penning a deal with Mahindra Racing.

A reunion of sorts for the drivers having been team-mates for a time at the HRT F1 team in 2010 and also in GP2 in 2008, Senna and Chandhok will join forces again to spearhead Mahindra's entry into the innovative all-electric single-seater series.

The third team of ten to confirm its driver line-up ahead of the opening round in Beijing on September 13th, following on from Audi Sport Abt (Lucas di Grassi, Daniel Abt) and Virgin Racing (Jaime Alguersuari, Sam Bird), Mahindra Racing team manager Dilbagh Gill is delighted with his pairing.

"Karun and Bruno both represent the perfect balance between experience and youthful enthusiasm for this truly ground breaking championship. I am confident they will do their best to represent Mahindra on the world stage and the entire team is aiming for top results from the start of the championship."

A return to full-time single-seater competition for Senna, who started 46 grands prix between 2010 and 2012, the Brazilian is looking forward to getting his season started.

"I'm very proud to be joining Mahindra Racing. There is a real ambition within the team to be leaders in Formula E from the start. It's also an exciting prospect to be part of such a revolutionary championship from the beginning.

"There will be a lot to learn very quickly, both for the teams and drivers in terms of technology and driving styles and for race fans as Formula E will popularise a new type of motorsport across the world. Of course, I already have a great relationship with Karun which will help us work together and move the team forward very quickly."



Loading Comments...