The World Motor Sport Council has passed several motions concerning the second season of Formula E, including the 2015-16 calendar and the introduction of set requirements for any driver hoping to take part.

An eleven-race schedule was announced at the WMSC meeting in Mexico City, including a first visit to Paris alongside other more familiar locations. The season will again run through the traditional motorsport off-season, beginning in China in mid-October and ending with another double-header in London at a date yet to be determined. Paris effectively replaces Monaco, which was unable to take up a second race due to its Historic Grand Prix event, while Miami is missing from the list, replaced by an event yet to be confirmed.

Drivers wanting to be considered for the series, however, will now have to fit a given set of credentials, aimed at keeping the level of competence high, particularly as the champion will now be automatically granted an F1 superlicence.

The FIA 'e-Licence' will be mandatory and only issued to drivers having accumulated at least 20 points on the FIA points system used to qualify for the F1 superlicence in the previous three years, previously held an F1 superlicence or participated in at least three races of the previous FIA Formula E Championship.

In addition, a specific FIA training session on the most important points of electrical safety, technical and sporting aspects of the competition must be completed.

The full 2015-16 FIA Formula E Championship calendar is as follows:

17 October 2015ChinaBeijing
7 November 2015MalaysiaPutrajaya
19 December 2015Uruguay**Punta del Este**
6 February 2016Argentina**Buenos Aires**
19 March 2016TBDTBD
2 April 2016USALong Beach
23 April 2016FranceParis
21 May 2016GermanyBerlin
4 June 2016RussiaMoscow

* All events remain subject to FIA track homologation, ** TBC



Loading Comments...