Click here for full qualifying results for the Mexico City ePrix

Jerome d'Ambrosio has scored his second Formula E pole of the year at the inaugural Mexico City ePrix after championship leader Sebastien Buemi made a vital mistake in qualifying for the second consecutive race.

The Renault e.Dams driver had looked set to beat d'Ambrosio's provisional pole time of 1m 03.705s in his shootout lap but made an error in the middle sector and ran wide which effectively ended his challenge.

However, after making it into the pole shootout Buemi will start from fifth rather than the back row which he suffered last time out in Argentina after making a similar mistake in Buenos Aires during group qualifying.

The three bonus points which come with pole position have also lifted the Dragon driver into fourth in the championship standings before turning a wheel for the Mexico City ePrix.

Nicolas Prost will line-up alongside the Belgian driver, while Buemi's closest title rival Lucas di Grassi heads the second row alongside his ABT Schaeffler Audi team-mate Daniel Abt.

It was a nightmare qualifying for reigning Formula E champion Nelson Piquet Jr after he pushed his NEXTEV TCR car to its limits and suffered a turn one smash. Locking up under braking, Piquet shunted head-first into the temporary protection barrier, ripping up the front-end of his car. He will start the Mexico ePrix from the back of the grid.

Jean-Eric Vergne narrowly missed out on the pole shootout and starts sixth on the grid ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa, but the Gulf Team Aguri driver is expected to be handed a grid penalty for a gearbox change.

His penalty will promote Loic Duval as Nick Heidfeld, Stephane Sarrazin and Simona de Silvestro completed out the top ten.

Vergne had led proceedings in the first qualifying group but the more competitive second group quickly displaced the French driver. In a mini battle between the championship top two, Buemi took first blood by bettering di Grassi's time, while D'Ambrosio also nipped ahead of Vergne to join the fight for the pole position shootout.

Bruno Senna suffered a spin at turn one on his full power lap which guaranteed the Brazilian a back row start alongside fellow countryman Piquet.

The third group progressed without incident, as Prost was the only driver to reach the pole shootout, while action was halted in the final group after Piquet suffered his turn one crash.

After a 15-minute suspension when the final qualifying group resumed without Piquet none of the drivers threatened the top five, with last month's winner at the Buenos Aires ePrix Sam Bird slotting into a provisional 11th.



Loading Comments...