Jaguar Racing has unveiled its driver line-up upon its comeback to motorsport in Formula E with Adam Carroll and Mitch Evans appointed race drivers.

After stepping out of F1 in 2004 to be replaced by Red Bull, Jaguar Racing confirmed its return to single seater motorsport with its entry into the third season the Formula E championship.

Upon revealing its new grey and blue livery the team also announced Carroll and Evans would be on driver duties with Ho Pin Tung made reserve driver.

At the launch of its all-new I-type 1, the team also unveiled a new partnership with Panasonic, former title sponsors of Toyota in F1, and will take the title name of Panasonic Jaguar Racing in Formula E. Lear Corporation has also been named an official team partner.

Having completed pre-season testing alongside its rivals at Donington Park, Jaguar gave a formal presentation to launch its race team with James Barclay, team director, expressing his joy at the fresh challenge.

"Today is a proud moment for myself and the entire Panasonic Jaguar Racing team at our official launch," Barclay said. "Everyone has worked very hard over the last nine months to prepare for our debut in the championship. I am delighted to welcome Adam, Mitch and Ho-Pin, Panasonic, Lear and all of our new fans into the Jaguar family.

"We want to be successful on and off the track. We know that the challenge will be strong - our competitors have a two-year head start. We will be keeping our expectations in check in our first season. Ultimately we're here to win but we're here to innovate too.

"I would like to thank Jean Todt and his team at the FIA and Alejandro Agag and his team at Formula E for their vision in building this innovative series and for their help and support over the last 12 months with Jaguar's entry."

Jaguar's driver line-up provides a mix of experience and youth, albeit with neither driver having competed in the opening two Formula E seasons, with Carroll currently completing a year with Gulf Racing Porsche in the GTE-Am category in the World Endurance Championship.

Evans is heading to the end of his fourth consecutive GP2 Series campaign and helped Jota Sport to second place at this year's Le Mans 24 Hours in the LMP2 category alongside Simon Dolan and Oliver Turvey - the latter races for NextEV NIO in Formula E.


Loading Comments...