Inaugural FIA Formula E champion Nelson Piquet Jr. will make the switch across to Jaguar Racing for the all-electric series' fourth season, partnering Mitch Evans.

Piquet claimed the first Formula E title in 2015 with Team China Racing, later becoming NextEV, but was unable to rekindle the kind of form that saw him take the crown through season two and three.

Ongoing frustration led Piquet to look at options elsewhere in Formula E, eventually striking a deal to join Jaguar in place of Adam Carroll, who has been dropped after a tough rookie season in the series.

"It’s a great honour to join Panasonic Jaguar Racing. Jaguar has such a strong history in motorsport and it’s an exciting time to become part of the team," Piquet said.

"Their commitment to electric motorsport is inspiring and I’m looking forward to working with the team.”

Jaguar returned to top-line motorsport in 2016 by entering a works Formula E team, but finished last in the teams' championship due to a short lead-up time.

However, team boss James Barclay hopes the lessons learned from season three and the signing of Piquet can spur Jaguar on to greater success in its second year on the grid.

"We are hugely excited to have Nelson on board for season four. Mitch was one of the outstanding rookies of the season with some great qualifying and race performances," Barclay said.

"With our new driver line-up we are aiming to be a strong challenger on the grid, regularly competing for points. We have taken a lot of learnings from season three and the team have been working extremely hard throughout the off-season, focusing on the design and development of the new Jaguar I-TYPE 2."



Loading Comments...