Sebastien Buemi will start Saturday's Berlin E-Prix from pole position after beating Stoffel Vandoorne in the final stage of qualifying at Tempelhof Airport.

After trailing Vandoorne by six-thousandths of a second in the initial qualifying heats, Buemi managed to beat the HWA Racelab driver by three-tenths of a second in the final Super Pole shootout, securing Nissan's fourth pole of the season in the process.

Audi's Lucas di Grassi qualified third ahead of Vandoorne's HWA teammate, Gary Paffett, while Alex Lynn made his first Super Pole appearance since joining Jaguar in P5, leading BMW's Alexander Sims.

Championship leader Jean-Eric Vergne qualified down in ninth place behind Daniel Abt and Antonio Felix da Costa, but teammate and title rival Andre Lotterer will start from the back of the grid after mistiming his push lap in qualifying, leaving him four seconds off the pace.




Loading Comments...