CLICK HERE for the full Berlin ePrix race results

Lucas di Grassi is excluded post-race for running an ineligible front wing - d'Ambrosio inherits the win

Lucas di Grassi has extended his lead in the FIA Formula E Championship standings after reeling off a dominant victory in the Berlin ePrix.

The Brazilian started from second placed behind pole sitter Jarno Trulli, but was ahead by turn two and simply eased out his advantage up to the pit stops and again to the chequered flag, winning by almost eight seconds.

A second win of the season for the Brazilian - more than nine months on from his other success at the Beijing opener -, the victory comes at a crucial time for the Audi Sport ABT driver as he moves 17 points clear in the overall standings.

Held around a temporary circuit at Berlin's Templehof Airport - the first non-street circuit of the season -, Jerome d'Ambrosio produced his best drive of the year to progress to second position, holding off Monaco winner Sebastien Buemi, the Swiss driver keeping himself in title contention.

In only his fourth Formula E race, Loic Duval secured a fourth place finish, resisting the advances of Nelson Piquet Jr late on. A good comeback from 13th on the grid for the title contender, Piquet Jr made a later pit stop strategy work before clambering his way into the top five.

Venturi team-mates Nick Heidfeld and Stephane Sarrazin picked up their best results of the season in sixth and seventh, while Jean-Eric Vergne, Sam Bird and Tonio Liuzzi rounded out the top ten, the latter scoring his first point.

Meanwhile, pole sitter Trulli endured a dismal race in his eponymous car, the Italian plummeting down the order to last place before eventually pulling into the pit lane two laps from the chequered flag.



Loading Comments...