Click here to see full Moscow ePrix race results

Nelson Piquet Jr has made a huge stride towards the inaugural Formula E championship after taking an impressive second victory of the season in the Moscow ePrix.

The China Racing driver grabbed the lead into turn one after pole man Jean-Eric Vergne span his wheels off the line. The Brazilian driver darted ahead and maintained a comfortable lead from the chasing pack to win and extends his championship lead to 12 points.

Piquet Jr's main championship rivals Lucas di Grassi and Sebastien Buemi joined him on the rostrum in Moscow, with di Grassi taking second ahead of Buemi in third. The e.dams Renault driver enjoyed a frantic last-lap battle with Nick Heidfeld and Vergne and the race ended with six drivers under investigation by the race stewards.

Heading to the season finale in London, Piquet Jr leads the drivers' standings by 12 points from Buemi with di Grassi is 17 points off the championship leader.

Pole sitter Vergne suffered a difficult start to the race after getting too much wheel spin off the line which enabled Piquet Jr to jump into the lead at the first turn.

With clean air the China Racing driver notched up some fast laps to pull out a useful 3.5 second gap before the pit stops.

As the race entered the switchover phase di Grassi was able to execute a perfect pit leapfrog over Vergne and jump up to second place.

In a strange incident, both e.dams Renault drivers were held in the pits an extra ten seconds despite the regulations stating the minimum pit time was 58 seconds. Co-owner Alain Prost explained it was down to a miscommunication in the team managers' briefing, where the team thought the minimum pit stop time was 68 seconds.

The error had a huge impact on the races of both Buemi and Nicolas Prost, with Buemi finishing the race third - 11 seconds behind the race winner - while Prost dropped down the order and ended the race in ninth.

Out in front Piquet Jr maintained a time cushion to the chasing di Grassi as he racked up the race laps.

The frantic final action saw a three-way scrap between Buemi, Vergne and Heidfeld which saw all three collide over the final lap.

Further back Daniel Abt grabbed a sixth place finish ahead of Salvador Duran, while Antonio da Costa nipped ahead of Prost and Justin Wilson in the closing stages.