Click here for full Mexico City ePrix race results

Jerome d'Ambrosio has clinched his second career Formula E victory after original winner Lucas di Grassi was disqualified following post-race scrutineering.

The Belgian, having started from pole position, held the advantage into the first corner and after a calm opening the first Mexican all-electric car race came to life at the midpoint.

On the in-lap for the car changeovers di Grassi began his perfect stint by jumping ahead of Prost for second place. After holding position during the stops the Brazilian smartly deployed his Fan Boost at the end of his out lap down the main straight to sprint past d'Ambrosio for the lead.

From here, di Grassi simply eked out his advantage to the chequered flag to cross the line five seconds clear of the chasing pack.

However, the Brazilian's joy was to be shortlived when it emerged in the hours after the race that car he used during the first stint was 1.8kg under the permitted minimum weight. Stripped of his win, his Abt Schaeffler team has opted not to appeal the ruling.

Unbeknown at the time, it meant what was a frantic tussle for second place would be one of the lead.

Indeed, Buemi in what was third was becoming increasingly frustrated behind Dragon Racing's d'Ambrosio with the Swiss driver running into the rear of the car at one stage. He was also forced to relinquish second place after passing by skipping over chicane as both drivers became animated on track and over the radio.

In a frantic finale, the Belgian driver resisted a late charge from Buemi on the final lap to take second place - soon to be the win - by half a car's length.

Further back, Nicolas Prost's race was hampered by a drive-through penalty for an unsafe pit stop release while Daniel Abt was denied fourth place after spinning on the penultimate lap.

Despite this, Prost would end up as the big beneficiary post-race, rising from fifth to fourth as a result of di Grassi's DQ, before gaining third at the expense of Loic Duval after the Frenchman was handed a 15secs penalty for track limits infractions. He stays fourth.

Andretti's Robin Frijns enjoyed another solid race in fifth, ahead of Buenos Aires ePrix winner Sam Bird in seventh, while Abt limped home in seventh. Nick Heidfeld, Stephane Sarrazin and Bruno Senna completed the revised top ten.

In the overall standings, di Grassi's second win of the year had seen him go top, but the subsequent exclusion means Buemi is back in front with a sizeable 22 point advantage.



Loading Comments...