Lucas di Grassi will take a scant one point lead into the final round of the FIA Formula E Championship in London after Sebastien Buemi closed things up with a mighty win in the Berlin ePrix.

The Swiss driver came into the race with a good opportunity to reduce the margin to di Grassi at the top of the table after the championship leader could only qualify in eighth position, the former F1 driver duly taking advantage from the front row.

Taking the lead from pole sitter Jean-Eric Vergne at the opening bend, though Vergne retook the position on lap two with an aggressive pass at the final corner, when the Swiss driver struck back to go ahead again on lap six of 48 he was never challenged thereafter.

This was despite looming pressure in the closing stages when a safety car was called to clear the stranded Dragon car of Loic Duval, setting up a potentially thrilling two lap sprint to the chequered flag.

However, the Renault eDams driver would make no mistake at the restart, keeping it tidy to clinch victory over Daniel Abt and the recovering di Grassi.

Indeed, to di Grassi's credit, the Brazilian made impressive gains courtesy of a fine start, a longer first stint and a daring pass for third on Nicholas Prost. However, he may take exception to Abt failing to heed a team order to give second position to his ABT team-mate, the German arguing he never heard a call to move over.

As a result, di Grassi and Buemi head into the final round - the double header at Battersea Park - split by just one point. It is the second year both drivers have come into the final round in contention for the title, though both lost to Nelson Piquet Jr on that occasion.

Prost brought the second Renault car home in fourth, ahead of Vergne, who was lucky to reach the finish after damaging his car over kerbs just ahead of his pit-stop.

Robin Frijns put in a fine charge up the order to finish sixth for Andretti, as did Nick Heidfeld, the local driver battling his way to seventh having started at the back of the grid. Mikc Conway, Simona de Silvestro and Stephane Sarrazin completed the points in eighth, ninth and tenth.



Loading Comments...