Sebastien Buemi extended his lead at the top of the FIA Formula E drivers' championship with victory in Saturday's Paris ePrix, marking his fifth win in six races this season.

Buemi edged out Jean-Eric Vergne for pole position by just 0.006 seconds in qualifying, but came under pressure once again on the run down to Turn 1 on the first lap.

Vergne attempted a move around the outside, only to be blocked off and left to settle down in second place as Buemi forged a two-second buffer at the front, with Jose Maria Lopez sitting third for DS Virgin Racing.

Buemi remained comfortable up front throughout the first stint of the race, only for a clash between title rival Lucas di Grassi and Andretti's Antonio Felix da Costa to spark a Full Course Yellow.

Aiming to fight back from P13 on the grid, di Grassi tried a move around the outside of da Costa, only for the two to tangle and hit the wall. While di Grassi was able to continue without damage, da Costa's race was ended on the spot, with the FCY allowing for his car to be recovered.

Most took advantage of the FCY to pit and swap cars, with Buemi retaining his lead ahead of Vergne and Lopez. Vergne put the hammer down when the race returned to green flag running, sitting just a second back from the Renault e.dams car ahead, but saw his race end when a technical failure on his Techeetah sent him straight into the wall.

The shunt sparked a full safety car period, with Buemi once again seeing his advantage be wiped away. Buemi soaked up the pressure from Lopez and retained his lead at the front, with the race ultimately ending under the safety car after di Grassi crashed when chasing the fastest lap of the race.

Behind Buemi and Lopez, Nick Heidfeld was able to take his third podium of the season for Mahindra ahead of team-mate Felix Rosenqvist, while Nicolas Prost was P5 in the second Renault e.dams. Robin Frijns was classified sixth, dropping a place from his finishing position on-track due to a five second time penalty.

Nelson Piquet Jr. ended the race seventh in a somewhat bizarre finish as Esteban Gutierrez tried to negate a five-second time penalty by backing up the field under the safety car. The plan backfired, though, as the Mexican was ultimately classified 12th. Tom Dillmann finished eighth on his Formula E debut for Venturi, while Mitch Evans and Stephane Sarrazin rounded out the points.



Loading Comments...