The FIA GT Championship has had no shortage of excitement this season and, though the #1 Larbre Competition Chrysler Viper GTS-R stroked home a relatively comfortable five-lap victory, having scored points at six, 12 and 24 hours, there was high drama during the 24 hours.

A fiery accident caused a three-hour safety car period and one of the early season championship leaders was excluded from the final half of the race, although they could score during the first half. 52 cars took the start of the race, watched by a crowd of 64,000 on Saturday alone, with a race weekend attendance of more than 100,000 people.

Christophe Bouchut and David Terrien took the lead of the Drivers classification with a full score of 20 points from the weekend. Sharing with Belgian Vincent Vosse and Frenchman Sebastien Bourdais they won the Proximus Spa 24 hours, crossing the line a full five laps ahead of their nearest challenger, the #15 Lister Storm.

The #1 Chrysler Viper GTS-R was leading at the all point-scoring opportunities, taking five points at both six and 12 hours, five points each, with the final 12 hours counting for another set of 10 championship points. Their tally means that they have taken an eight-point lead in the championship for drivers over new third place driver Vosse.

Didier Defourny, Carl Rosenblad, Jean-Luc Chereau and Jean-Claude Lagniez finished third in class in the #2 Larbre Competition Chrysler Viper, delayed by a puncture that hit Rosenblad at the top of the daunting Eau Rouge corner. David Sterckx, Bobby Verdon-Roe, Miguel de Castro and Justin Law finished second overall in their nr 15 Lister Storm Racing Lister Storm, the car never having missed a beat.

The N-GT class was won by the #54 Freisinger Motorsport Porsche 996 GT3R of Stephane Ortelli, Emmanuel Collard and Romain Dumas, another car that led at the all-important six, 12 and 24 hours. The three drivers brought their car home in third position overall, ahead of their championship rivals Christian Pescatori and Andrea Montermini, who shared their nr 50 JMB Racing Ferrari 360 Modena with Andrea Bertolini and Andrea Garbagnati.

Marc Lieb, Bert Longin, Georges Forgeois and Andre Lotterer made it a Freisinger 1-3 as they took the final podium position in their #55 Freisinger Motorsport Porsche 996 GT3R.

The #14 Lister Storm Racing Lister Storm of Jamie Campbell-Walter and Nicolaus Springer, joined by Andy Wallace and Eric van de Poele, recovered from an earlier accident with the nr 52 JMB Ferrari 360 Modena to run third overall.

However, with just under four hours remaining in the race, Campbell-Walter exited La Source hairpin when an input shaft into the gearbox broke, leaving the British driver without any drive. He steered into the pit lane, but it was an illegal entry point and the car was excluded from scoring any points in the second half of the race. The drivers still scored a total of 2.5 points for a fifth and a fourth position at the six and 12-hour marks respectively.

The Paul Belmondo Racing Chrysler Vipers finished fourth and fifth in class. The #12 Paul Belmondo Racing Chrysler Viper GTS-R of Fabio Babini, Marc Duez and Boris Derichebourg dropped back having been on the same lap as the #1 Chrysler Viper after an accident with Babini at the wheel. The #11 of Paul Belmondo, Claude-Yves Gosselin and Ryo Fukuda also fell back late in the race, with transmission problems.

The N-GT class was won by a clear five laps by the #54 Freisinger Motorsport Porsche 996 GT3R. The car ran without difficulty throughout the 24 hours to fend off a challenge from the Ferrari 360 Modena that completed a 24-hour race for the first time. The #64 Cirtek Motorsport Porsche 996 GT3R of American Vic Rice, Manfred Jurasz and Stephane Daoudi, finished fourth in class, 24 laps down on the class winners, with the Mac Racing and Swiss GT Porsche cars taking the final points.



Loading Comments...