For the second time in two races since they were reduced to a singleton entry in the FIA GT Championship, Force One Festina put their Mike Hezemans, Anthony Kumpen, Philippe Alliot crewed Chrysler Viper on pole position in their bid to avoid a one hundred per cent retirement record in this season's Championship.

The fast but fragile Franco-Dutch trio will start the final round of this year's Championship from top spot after setting a best time of 1:43.559secs in the faster first qualifying session, almost four tenths of a second ahead of Ferrari 550 duo Fabrizio Gollin and Luca Capellari.

Behind the leading Prancing Horse, rapid Saleen trio Franz Konrad, Toni Seiler and Walter Lechner Jr will start third alongside the Ferrari 550M of Lillian Bryner, Enzo Calderari and Stefano Livio.

Things weren't going as well for the Lister's, Ferrari 575's and the brand new Lamborghini Murcielago as the two factory Storm's qualified only fifth (Piccini/Sterckx/Lancieri) and eighth (Campbell-Walter/Kinch), the Estoril winning 575 of Philipp Peter and Fabio Babini tenth and the Lambo 17th.

The beautiful but thus far troublesome Lamborghini failed to set a time in second qualifying and was still more than six seconds off the polesitting pace.

In NGT Andrea Bertolini and Fabrizio de Simone will start from pole in their JMB Racing Ferrari after edging ahead of EMKA Racing's Tim Sugden and Emmanuel Collard in final qualifying, leaving the Porsche duo playing the bridesmaids in the final rundown.

Freisinger teammates Marc Lieb and Stephane Ortelli will start third in class ahead of the highly impressive JVG Racing Porsche of Mark Mayall, Ian Khan and veteran Michel Neugarten and the leading Team Maranello Concessionaires Ferrari of Jamie Davies and Darren Turner.



Loading Comments...