The Sumo Power GT team has signed Warren Hughes and Jamie Campbell-Walter as its second pair of drivers for the 2010 FIA GT1 World Championship.

Hughes and Campbell-Walter join Michael Krumm and Peter Dumbreck, who were confirmed in February and they will drive the second of the team's two Nissan GT-Rs - car number 22.

Hughes, who has spent the past nine seasons in either GT or Touring cars and has contested the legendary Le Mans 24-hours six times, winning the LMP2 Class and breaking the lap record in the process, is delighted to be joining Sumo Power GT for a full World Championship campaign.

"When I first heard about the FIA GT1 World Championship and the venues it visits I immediately wanted to be involved", said Hughes. "Once I had been invited to test with the Sumo Power GT team I was really hoping that I would be offered a seat, so to finally secure a drive is a fantastic opportunity."

Campbell-Walter is another driver to have raced at Le Mans, his five visits to the French classic backed-up with campaigns in the Le Mans, FIA and British GT Championships over the past 13 years.

"I'm over the moon to be get the drive with Sumo Power GT this season and it's great to be involved with a new championship and a new team right from the start," he added. "I'm looking forward to being back in a GT Championship, especially one which visits so many good circuits in so many different countries."

Hughes and Campbell-Walter both drove one of the team's Nissan GTRs in a test at Snetterton recently and were impressed.

"We have been making such good progress with the performance of the cars we felt we needed to have a strong pairing of drivers in our second GT-R," added team manager, Allen Orchard. "We therefore opted for Warren and Jamie, instead of two drivers who are there because of the budget they bring with them. I'm delighted that we now have one of the best driver line-ups on the grid."

The team is now scheduled to test its two Nissans at Silverstone. It will then begin preparations for the cars' departure to Abu Dhabi for the first race of the season, which takes place on April 17.



Loading Comments...