World Series by Renault organisers have confirmed its calendar for the 2009 season, with two new circuits joining the schedule.

Once again, nine rounds and 17 races make up the season, with the Monaco Grand Prix support race returning as the series' blue riband event.

In addition, the much lauded Portimao circuit in Portugal is set to make its debut on the calendar as a replacement for Estoril, although this remains subject to FIA approval. Meanwhile, Monza has also been removed in favour of the new Motorland Aragon circuit in Spain, which will also host the final round of the year in October.

The season, which will kick off in Barcelona on April 18-19, will also visit the United Kingdom once again with a round at Silverstone on July 4-5.

Full 2009 World Series by Renault calendar

April 18-19 Barcelona, SpainMay 2-3 Spa-Francorchamps, BelgiumMay 23-24 MonacoJune 23-24 Hungaroring, HungaryJuly 4-5 Silverstone, United KingdomJuly 18-19 Le Mans, FranceAugust 1-2 Portimao, Portugal *September 19-20 Nurburgring, GermanyOctober 24-25 Motorland Aragon, Spain

* Subject to FIA approval



Loading Comments...