The calendar for the 2010 Renault World Series season has been revealed, featuring two circuits that will debut on the schedule for the new campaign.

Both Brno and Hockenheim will make their first appearance on the calendar, with Brno replacing the event on the Algarve and Hockenheim taking over the German race from the Nurburgring.

The scene of the 2009 season finale, the Motorland Aragon circuit in Spain, will be the season opener in 2010 before the trip to Spa, with the biggest event on the calendar - the Monaco GP support race - coming in May.

Brno will be followed by Magny-Cours, which takes over hosting of the French race from Le Mans, before trips to Hungary and Hockenheim. The British round at Silverstone and the second Spanish event in Barcelona then conclude the season.

As well as revealing a new schedule, the World Series has also announced a number of changes for 2010 which include an increase in track time at each of the events and a new qualifying system.

The current format of a reverse grid for one of the two races will be removed, with separate 30-minute sessions being held during the weekend to determine the grid for the two races. Superpole also goes for 2010.

The format of the meetings will also change slightly in order to increase track time. On Fridays, the programme will feature two test sessions of an hour and 15 minutes each. This increase will allow series rookies to gain as much track time as possible before qualifying.

Each race will last for 44 minutes plus one lap, with the exception of Monaco, where a single race will be held on the same day as qualifying.

The season now will consist of 17 qualifying sessions and races.

Technical reliability is the series' watchword for 2010, with a view to controlling costs. There will be no mechanical changes provided the 'push to pass' system is retained, although the engine rev limiter will move from 8200 to 8500 as compensation.

Saturday's race will also see the cars compete in a 'light aerodynamic' configuration, which will be defined according to a development programme managed by Renault Sport Technologies.

In addition, the F1 preparation programme, with in particular training at Enstone and the presence of the drivers at at least one grand prix, will be repeated and improved in 2010. As in other years, the champion winner will also be given an F1 tryout.

2010 World Series by Renault calendar:

17-18 AprilSpain Motorland Aragon
1-2 MayBelgiumSpa
15-16 MayMonaco
5-6 JuneCzech Republic Brno
19-20 JuneFranceMagny-Cours
3-4 JulyHungaryHungaroring
4-5 SeptermberGermanyHockenheim
18-19 SeptemberBritainSilverstone
9-10 OctoberSpainBarcelona



Loading Comments...