Carlin Racing has announced its departure from the 2016 Formula V8 3.5 grid with immediate effect, one year after returning to the RPM series from a year-long absence.

After missing all of 2014, the British outfit returned the following year under the guise of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin; fielding Tom Dillmann and Sean Gelael throughout its campaign. Finishing sixth of 11 teams in 2015, Carlin will not return for to the series under its new name 'FV8 3.5'.

Instead, the team will focus its endeavours in GP2, with Marvin Kirchhofer already signed for the impending season. Speaking of their sudden exit, team boss Trevor Carlin cited finanical reasons behind the decision:

"In the current market we're seeing that drivers at the top end of the sport are limited and we have taken the decision to put all our efforts into the GP2 Series" said Carlin following the announcement. "With a strengthened team for 2016 GP2 will be our absolute focus as our headline formula in Europe."

The 52-year-old went on to thank RPM Racing whose boss Jaime Algerusauri has fronted the Formula Nissan and Formula Renault 3.5 championships in the past. The team has won in 2011 with Canadian racer Robert Wickens and can also count Sebastian Vettel, Kevin Magnussen and Jean-Eric Vergne among its impressive alumni.

"Counting many of those colleagues as friends we wish them the very best of luck with the series in 2016," he continued. "We thank Jaime Alguersuari and all at RPM for their hardwork and support over the years," he said on the day of the team's announcement

In the wake of Carlin's departure from the 2016 Formula V8 3.5 grid, 11 teams will now contest the RPM-backed series' maiden voyage following Renault Sport's own withdrawal at the end of last year.



Loading Comments...