Miguel Molina has been awarded his first World Series by Renault win of the season at the Nurburgring after original winner Salvador Duran was excluded for a technical infringement.

Molina was second on the road to Duran, who had led from the very beginning, but the Mexican driver's Interwetten Racing car was found to have technical irregularities regarding his gearbox ratios.

Enough for the stewards to exclude him, Molina's win also signals the first victory of the season for the Prema Powerteam and goes some way to making up for the incident in the first race that eliminated both of their cars from good positions.

From the start, Duran got the jump on pole sitter Giedo van der Garde and led into the first corner, followed closely by Molina, Marco Bonanomi, Alvaro Barba, race one winner Fabio Carbone and Julien Jousse. Mikhail Aleshin, who had qualified ninth, meanwhile, was already out after spinning off on the formation lap.

Up at the front Duran was keeping a good margin back to van der Garde just as the first round of pit-stops were getting underway, with Molina coming in first, followed on the next few laps by Jousse, van der Garde and then Duran.

Although most of the drivers emerged back out in the rough order they came in, van der Garde was left towards the bottom end of the top ten after a delay in his pit stop caused him to drop time.

As such, Duran led from Molina, who was under pressure from Jousse now, the Frenchman making the biggest gains following his pit stop by setting a fastest lap some six tenths better than anyone else. Bonanomi, Bertrand Baguette and Barba followed, although Barba would eventually pass the two drivers ahead of him to secure what would eventually become third.

So, while Duran coasted to victory on the road, it was Molina just behind that would score some much needed points in a season that had him pegged as an outside title favourite but has seen him struggling to adapt to the new World Series car.

Jousse was in close company for second, a result that consolidates the same position in the championship, while Barba rounded out the podium in the second Prema car.

Bonanomi was fourth, ahead of Baguette in fifth, while Carbone, a recovering van der Garde, Pablo Sanchez, Esteban Guerrieri and Marco Barba rounded out the top ten and the points.



Loading Comments...