Having been invited by RC Motorsport to work on improving handling of its car, Andy Soucek rolled back the years at Valencia to set the quickest time on day one of World Series by Renault testing at the Spanish circuit.

Soucek, who finished fourth in the World Series standings back in 2006, posted a time of 1min 21.642secs during the afternoon session to lead the way by half a second from KTR driver Miguel Molina.

The session, which saw a number of drivers hitting the track for the first time in World Series machinery, started in cold conditions and with a wet track Almost an hour had gone before Marcos Martinez was the first to put on slick tyres and his decision turned out to be right one, as he took the best time by some distance with a lap of 1min 27.862secs.

Claudio Cantelli, Jaime Alguersuari and Marcos Martinez then took turns at the top of the timing screens. Just as the chequered flag brought the morning session to a close, James Walker, with a time of 1min 22.319secs, grabbed top spot held at that point by Charles Pic. Pushed back to second place, the Frenchman remained ahead of Spaniards Andy Soucek and Miguel Molina.

The second session went very much the same way as the first. Jaime Alguersuari and Marcos Martinez took turns to hold top spot during the majority of the afternoon, but going into the last hour, fresh tyres were put on and the more experienced drivers came to the fore. Marco Barba and Miguel Molina took it in turns at the top of the timing screens.

Soucek then upped the pace as the session drew to a close. The Spaniard produced the day's best performance and he finished ahead of Molina, Marco Barba, Charles Pic and Edoardo Mortara, the day's top rookie.

"I am very happy to be able to help out my friends at RC Motorsport," Soucek said. "We worked well on the car. It is certainly running well! The car is quick and fun to drive. It's perfect!"

WSbR testing times (26 November) - Valencia:

1. Andy Soucek RC 1m 21.642s
2. Miguel Molina KTR 1m 22.134s
3. Marco Barba Draco 1m 22.291s
4. James Walker P1 1m 22.319s *
5. Charles Pic Tech 1 1m 22.453s *
6. Edoardo Mortara Ultimate-Signature 1m 22.592s
7. Marcos Martinez Pons 1m 22.637s
8. Claudio Cantelli Draco 1m 22.732s
9. Pasquale Disabatino Epsilon Euskadi 1m 22.833s
10. Alexandre Marsoin Tech 1 1m 22.883s *
11. Greg Mansell Ultimate-Signature 1m 22.890s
12. Jaime AlguersuariCarlin 1m 22.925s
13. Stefano ColettiRC Motorsport1m 23.064s *
14. Oliver Turvey Carlin 1m 23.067s
15. Daniil Move P1 1m 23.072s
16. Siso CunillKTR1m 23.091s
17. Christian Ebbesvik Comtec 1m 23.269s
18. Rodolfo Gonzalez Prema 1m 23.311s
19. Max ChiltonComtec1m 23.344s
20. Jake Rosensweig Epsilon Euskadi 1m 23.506s *
21. Tobias HegewaldInterwetten.com1m 23.528s
22. Sten Pentus Fortec 1m 23.674s
23. Mihai MarinescuFortec 1m 23.789s
24. Omar Leal Prema 1m 23.857s
25. Federico Leo Pons 1m 24.023s *

* denotes time set in morning, all others in afternoon



Loading Comments...