Javier Villa has concluded the final GP2 pre-season test in Barcelona by recording the fastest time of the three days around his local circuit.

The Spaniard, who switches to Super Nova Racing after three seasons with Racing Engineering, continued to show good form for the British team as he topped the timesheets for the second time this year having previously done so at Paul Ricard also.

Furthermore, his lap of 1min 26.696secs would prove the quickest of the three day test, which is the final opportunity for the drivers and teams to fine tune their packages before returning to the same circuit for the first round next month.

Once again, the competition was close, with one second covering the top fifteen this time, while eighth different teams made up the top ten positions.

Despite this, both Alvaro Parente and Lucas di Grassi continued to have a strong presence at the head of the timesheets, the respective second and first day pace setters shadowing Villa just behind.

Making it a good day for the Super Nova team, Luca Filippi was fourth quickest, ahead of Barwa Addax's new signing Romain Grosjean.

Asia Series standouts Roldan Rodriguez, Giedo van der Garde and Kamui Kobayashi followed in sixth, seventh and eighth, while Sergio Perez made his first top ten in appearance with the Telmex backed Arden car in ninth. Jerome d'Ambrosio rounded out the top ten for DAMS.

Elsewhere, James Jakes continued to improve for DPR, the British driver jumping a spot to 18th and getting the gap down to the leaders to just over a second - down from three seconds on the first day.

Combined fastest times from latest GP2 Series test in Barcelona - 25 March 2009

1. Javier Villa Super Nova 1min 26.696secs
2. Alvaro Parente ORT 1min 26.735secs
3. Lucas di Grassi Racing Engineering 1min 26.858secs
4. Luca Filippi Super Nova 1min 26.882secs
5. Romain Grosjean Barwa Addax 1min 26.903secs
6. Roldan Rodriguez Piquet Sports 1min 26.913secs
7. Giedo van der Garde iSport 1min 27.026secs
8. Kamui Kobayashi DAMS 1min 27.088secs
9. Sergio Perez Telmex Arden 1min 28.155secs
10. Jerome d'Ambrosio DAMS 1min 27.247secs
11. Nico Hulkenberg ART Grand Prix1min 27.316secs
12. Andreas Zuber FMS International1min 27.349secs
13. Vitaly Petrov Barwa Addax 1min 27.369secs
14. Edoardo Mortara Telmex Arden 1min 27.525secs
15. Michael Herck DPR 1min 27.665secs
16. Davide Valsecchi Durango 1min 27.673secs
17. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1min 27.699secs
18. James Jakes DPR 1min 27.796secs
19. Alberto Valerio Piquet Sports 1min 27.877secs
20. Davide Rigon Trident 1min 27.899secs
21. Nelson Panciatici Durango 1min 27.995secs
22. Pastor Maldonado ART Grand Prix1min 28.033secs
23. Diego Nunes iSport 1min 28.127secs
24. Karun Chandhok ORT 1min 28.273secs
25. Luiz Razia FMS International1min 28.609secs
26. Ricardo Teixeira Trident 1min 29.728secs



Loading Comments...