The Barwa Addax team will not return to the GP2 Series in 2014, it was announced on Tuesday as the series organisers unveiled the 13 teams that had successfully applied for a grid spot in the championship for the next three-year cycle of the competition.

Barwa Addax won the GP2 team title in 2011 having been runner-up in 2009 and 2010, although it has finished out of the top six in the most recent seasons. Among the drivers it has fielded over the years have been Romain Grosjean, Sergio Perez, Giedo van der Garde, Charles Pic, Davide Valsecchi, Vitaly Petrov, Dani Clos, Johnny Cecotto Jr. and Jake Rosenzweig.

The Barwa Addax team was originally formed by the takeover of Campos Racing by Alejandro Agag's Addax Capital bank in 2008, and this week's announcement includes news that former F1 driver Adrian Campos is to return to the GP2 Series with a new team in place of Addax.

"We are pleased to welcome back Adrian Campos to GP2 and I would like to thank Alejandro Agag for his involvement in our Series," said GP2 CEO Bruno Michel. "I wish Alejandro all the best in his next challenge."

Valencia-born Campos competed as a driver in F1 with Minardi in 1987 and 1988 before going on to found Adrian Campos Motorsport (later renamed Campos Racing) in 1998, the team entering GP2 for the series' inaugural season in 2005. Campos last season as team manager and owner was 2008 when it won its first GP2 team title, but he stood down from running the team and sold his remaining stake at the end of that season to Agag in order to focus on building a new F1 team called Campos Grand Prix. That endeavour was eventually bought out and became the short-lived Hispania Racing Team (HRT), which finally folded at the end of 2012.

Other than Campos Racing reforming and taking the place of Barwa Addax, the other 12 teams in the newly-revealed line-up for 2014-2016 all remain unchanged from the current grid. GP2 tenders its team line-up for a three-year contract, with teams signing a contract to compete for that duration that can only be broken by mutual agreement or a team lines up a suitable replacement to pass its grid slot onto that gets the series' sign-off.

In the most recent three-year cycle, four teams - Ocean Racing, iSport International, Super Nova Racing and Scuderia Coloni - all opted to terminate their involvement early and were duly replaced by Hilmer Motorsport, Russian Time, Venezuela GP Lazarus and MP Motorsport respectively, and all of them are confirmed in their own right for the next three-year contract.

"We're very happy to announce our line up for the next three years," said Michel. "As usual, we received high quality requests from new teams who wished to join our series. However, as we did in the past we decided to show loyalty to the existing teams who have done a very good job in a difficult economic environment."

The line-up will consist of Arden, ART, Campos Racing, Carlin, DAMS and EQ8 Caterham, along with Hilmer, MP Motorport, Racing Engineering, Rapax and Russian Time. The final two spots go to Trident and Venezuela GP Lazarus.



Loading Comments...