Russian Time driver Tom Dillmann will not take part in the final race of the season on Sunday afternoon, after being ruled unfit to participate in the last sprint race of 2013 at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi.

Dillmann was lucky to escape without serious injury after Jon Lancaster bounced over the kerbs at the first chicane at turn 6 and hit the side of Dillmann's car, running right up the side so that the front wing of the Hilmer Motorsport's front wing made contact with and finally came to rest pressing down on Dillmann's helmet.

While Dillmann was quickly out of the car without assistance once Lancaster's car was pulled clear while the race was put behind a safety car, he was still ordered to hospital for medical evaluation which determined that he has a neck injury ruling him out of further competition this weekend.

"I'm back in the paddock, I really didn't imagine to spend my afternoon at the hospital! Lucky to escape that one with little injury," he tweeted later in the evening.

"I definitely won't race tomorrow but my aim is to be ready of the tests. Thank you for your messages," he added. "Most annoying is to end up the season that way for the team and for myself. We deserved better. Keep pushing!!"

However, Dillmann's hopes of turning out in next week's post-season three-day test in Abu Dhabi proved overly optimistic, with the driver later tweeting: "Final decision by the FIA doctors is that I will be out for a few weeks. I will be back stronger."

Dillmann's absence from Russian Time's line-up for Sunday's season finale almost certainly hands the team championship title to Carlin, which took the lead in the points after Jolyon Palmer and Felipe Nasr both finished in the points for the team.

As a result of causing the original collision with Dillmann's car, Lancaster was handed a five-place grid penalty for Sunday's sprint race by the race stewards which will mean that he will start from the back row of the grid.

Joining him there will be Arden's Mitch Evans, who triggered the second safety car of the feature race later in the proceedings with an attempt to pass Sergio Canamasas at the final corner at the end of lap 22. The collision spun Canamasas around and left the Caterham broadside across the track.

Fortunately none of the pursuing cars ran into him, and Canamasas was able to get back underway and eventually went on to finish in 12th place. Evans was not so lucky and was forced to pull over to the side of the track next to the pit wall, which forced the safety car to made an encore appearance so that the Arden would be retrieved and removed.

As a result of the penalties, Evans will start from 25th place on the grid just behind Lancaster who will get underway from 24th position, as the way penalties are imposed reflects the timing of the original offence meaning that Evans' demotion is calculated after Lancaster's.

The race stewards also handed Stefano Coletti a 20-second penalty to his feature race time after the Rapax driver was cited for causing a collision with the MP Motorsport car of Dani?l de Jong. That has the effect of dropping Coletti behind de Jong in the final results, and Coletti will duly start from 20th place for the sprint race.

Johnny Cecotto Jr. will take pole position for Sunday's race for Arden under reverse grid rules after finishing the feature event in eighth place. He will be joined on the front row of the grid by Carlin's Felipe Nasr.

Starting Grid

1. #5 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Arden
2. #9 Felipe Nasr Carlin
3. #3 James Calado ART GP
4. #26 Dani Clos MP Motorsport
5. #8 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering
6. #1 Marcus Ericsson DAMS
7. #10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin
8. #15 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing
9. #4 Daniel Abt ART GP
10. #11 Sam Bird Russian Time
11. #22 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport
12. #14 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing
13. #19 Simon Trummer Rapax
14. #17 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax
15. #24 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus
16. #7 Juli?n Leal Racing Engineering
17. #21 GianMarco Raimondo Trident Racing
18. #20 Nathana?l Berthon Trident Racing
19. #27 Dani?l de Jong MP Motorsport
20. #18 Stefano Coletti Rapax
21. #16 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax
22. #25 Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus
23. #2 St?phane Richelmi DAMS
24. #23 Jon Lancaster * Hilmer Motorsport
25. #6 Mitch Evans * Arden

Will not start#12 Tom Dillmann Russian Time

* denotes five-place penalty for causing a collision


Loading Comments...