That's it, here's your 2013 GP2 Driver of the Year vote results in full, with the final averaged ratings (out of ten) for all 20 drivers:

1. Sam Bird (Russian Time) - rated 7.860
2. Fabio Leimer (Racing Engineering) - rated 7.747
3. Felipe Nasr (Carlin) - rated 7.409
4. Robin Frijns (Hilmer Motorport) - rated 6.374
5. Alexander Rossi (Caterham) - rated 6.230
6. James Calado (ART) - rated 6.065
7. Jolyon Palmer (Carlin) - rated 6.048
8. Mitch Evans (Arden) - rated 6.000
9. Tom Dillmann (Russian Time) - rated 5.904
10. Marcus Ericsson (DAMS) - rated 5.537

11. Jon Lancaster (Hilmer Motorsport) - rated 5.306
12. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (MP Motorsport, Hilmer Motorsport) - rated 5.305
13. Stefano Coletti (Rapax) - rated 5.186
14. Stephane Richelmi (DAMS) - rated 5.122
15. Dani Clos (MP Motorsport) - rated 4.470
16. Kevin Ceccon (Trident) - rated 4.106
17. Julian Leal (Racing Engineering) - rated 4.012
18. Rio Haryanto (Barwa Addax) - rated 3.878
19. Nathanael Berthon (Trident) - rated 3.705
20. Johnny Cecotto Jr. (Arden) - rated 2.824

Thanks to everyone who voted - we were surprised and delighted to receive so many ballots for the GP2 Driver of the Year, confirming once again just how much interest there really is in the feeder series and the F1 stars of tomorrow.

We've already run through the top ten in some detail, but now you can see that it really was pretty tight at the top with a small margin between Sam Bird and Fabio Leimer for the title - just as there was in the GP2 series itself right up until the final weekend in Abu Dhabi. While Leimer won the real thing, the rest of the stats tell us that your call of making Bird the Driver of the Year is the right one!

It's interesting to see just what a loyal fan base Felipe Nasr has, as he wasn't far behind the lead duo and finished a strong third place despite not claiming a single pole, win or even fastest lap all year round. Even the fact that he was pipped to third place in the GP2 drivers' championship at the last minute by James Calado didn't dent Nasr's standing - whereas Calado slumped to sixth place in the Driver of the Year standings despite two race wins in 2013. That seems a little odd and a bit harsh on the Briton, but most likely it's a case that we simply expected more from him and were as disappointed as he was that he was never really in title contention.

By contrast, Robin Frijns storms to fourth place despite competing in only just over half the races of 2013 (and frankly most of the kudos coming his way being the result of his first appearance of the year at Bahrain.) We reckon the voters might have been understandably swayed by sympathy with Frijn's struggles to secure financial backing, and a sense of frustration that we never got to see what the Dutchman could have achieved if he'd been assured of a full season behind the wheel at Hilmer Motorsport.

Alexander Rossi is clearly another favourite among the electorate, and it's notable that Jolyon Palmer has moved up in your estimations this year. By contrast, fellow Brits Jon Lancaster and Adrian Quaife-Hobbs have yet to fully prove themselves in your eyes and end up just failing to make the top ten this year - maybe next year will see them nearer the sharp end?

Stefano Coletti's collapse in the second half of the season after a blistering start to the year sees him finish even further down the standings , ending up just ahead of fellow Monagasque Stephane Richelmi, but they're both still a long way ahead of this year's winner of the wooden spoon. Johnny Cecotto Jr. is very much not in your good books this year, after a series of on-track incidents culminating in that terrible turn 1 pile-up in the Monaco feature race that saw him banned for the following day's sprint event.

To be honest we don't blame you at all in your judgement, and it will be fascinating to see whether the Venezuelan fares any better in 2014 should he return to GP2 action for a further campaign.



Loading Comments...