With the start of the 2014 GP2 Series season just a little over three weeks away, the 13 teams involved in this year's championship are getting ready for the first of two vital pre-season test sessions.

This week the three-day test takes place at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, and in many cases it's the first chance that newly signed drivers such as Artem Markelov (Russian Time), Takuya Izawa (ART), Andr? Negrao (Arden) and Kimiya Sato (Campos Racing) will have had to get used to their new cars under proper race conditions.

Currently all but three race seats have been confirmed for 2014, with Felipe Nasr's re-signing at Carlin and confirmation that Stefano Coletti will be making a title bid with Racing Engineering the most recent announcements over the weekend.

That leaves a seat each at MP Motorsport, Trident and Venezuela GP Lazarus still to be filled, but for this week's test the teams have signed up Jon Lancaster, Axcil Jefferies and Conor Daly respectively.

Lancaster is a relatively old hand at GP2, having spent most of 2013 with Hilmer Motorsport which saw him pick up two sprint race wins at Silverstone and the Nurburgring as well as an additional feature race podium at Catalunya.

Daly is also familiar with the current Dallara car used by the series, having made his race d?but with Hilmer at least year's season opener in Malaysia. Daly also went on to compete in the prestigious Indianapolis 500 before spending most of his year back in the GP3 Series with ART.

But Axcil Jefferies will be making his first appearance in the series, the 19-year-old from Zimbabwe has been racing in kart series in Europe since 2007 and has competed in Formula BMW and Formula 2 before making two apeparances in the Firestone Indy Lights Series in the US in 2013 with Bryan Herta Autosport.

The three teams will make an announcement about their selection of race drivers for this year's GP2 championship nearer the start of the season, which gets underway in Bahrain on April 4.

This week's test starts on Tuesday at 9am local time, with the morning session running until midday and then an afternoon session starting at 2pm after a two-hour lunch break, concluding at 5pm. Wednesday and Thursday will see similar schedules.

Pirelli have selected two different compounds for these three days, the medium (prime) and the supersoft (option). Each driver will be supplied with five sets of prime and two sets of option tyres for the week.

Abu Dhabi test line up

#01 Mitch Evans (NZL) - Russian Time
#02 Artem Markelov (RUS) - Russian Time
#03 Felipe Nasr (BRA) - Carlin
#04 Julian Leal (COL) - Carlin
#05 Raffaele Marciello (ITA) - Racing Engineering
#06 Stefano Coletti (MON) - Racing Engineering
#07 Jolyon Palmer (GBR) - DAMS
#08 St?phane Richelmi (MON) - DAMS
#09 Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) - ART Grand Prix
#10 Takuya Izawa (JAP) - ART Grand Prix
#11 Daniel Abt (GER) - Hilmer Motorsport
#12 Facu Regalia (ARG) - Hilmer Motorsport
#14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (GBR) - Rapax
#15 Simon Trummer (SUI) - Rapax
#16 Rene Binder (AUT) - Arden International
#17 Andr? Negrao (BRA) - Arden International
#18 Rio Haryanto (INA) - EQ8 Caterham Racing
#19 Alexander Rossi (USA) - EQ8 Caterham Racing
#20 Daniiel De Jong (NED) - MP Motorsport
#21 Jon Lancaster * (GBR) - MP Motorsport
#22 Axcil Jefferies * (ZIM) - Trident
#23 Johnny Cecotto (VEN) - Trident
#24 Nathana?l Berthon (FRA) - Venezuela GP Lazarus
#25 Conor Daly * (USA) - Venezuela GP Lazarus
#26 Arthur Pic (FRA) - Campos Racing
#27 Kimiya Sato (JAP) - Campos Racing

* denotes driver not currently signed for forthcoming season



Loading Comments...